Crazy for Fall

2dfba81e32b3eb990ae73ff32e444837

I’m so excited to be starting out in the blogging world at this time of the year.  I absolutely love Fall.  I would guess most people would say they love Summer and Christmas time the most, but personally I have always loved Fall.  My favorite t.v. shows are almost ready to start back up (How to Get Away with Murder) anyone?  Opening day for college football is right around the corner.  The morning air is cooler, but the afternoon skies are sunny and bright blue and hints of Fall foliage are beginning to show in the trees.

With the changes in weather, I’ve found myself daydreaming about Fall decorations, family and friends gathered around the t.v. for college football, cook-outs, and evening campfires.  Then reality hit.  We are a one income family now, how are we going to afford our usual Fall gatherings?

Solution, plan, plan, plan….. We usually have at least 3 – 4 cook outs and football parties during the Fall, plus this year I am planning a cook-out for my soon to be 18 year old son’s birthday.  Step 1:  I decided how many gatherings we were going to host;  Step 2:  I planned my menu for each gathering, using frugal recipes;  Step 3:  I’ve begun looking for coupons on items we will need and will match to sale prices as they come available, so I can cheaply stock-up.

I’ve never been big on couponing, because it seemed like it took so much time, but since I’ve been home, I’ve found some fabulous coupon clipping sites and a wonderful app that matches up local store adds and current coupons for you.  The app is Favado and the coupon clipping sites I use are http://www.couponbeat.com and http://www.weclipusave.com.  If there are items you typically use, you can order how many coupons you need for those items only.  I set myself a monthly budget for coupons and I usually spend about the cost of a Sunday paper each week.  With planning, budgeting, coupons, and store sales, I know we can still have a fun, frugal, fabulous Fall.

Be on the look out for some of my frugal Fall recipes and decorating ideas under the Recipe and Decor tabs.

Happy Fall y’all!

4 comments

  1. liveclarelesley · August 23, 2015

    You had me at How To Get Away With Murder!!!! I can’t wait for that show to start up again!!!
    And thanks for the coupon clipping websites! I’ll try them!
    So glad you stopped by our blog party!
    –Clare

    Like

    • Amy · August 23, 2015

      I love that show!! I just googled it today. Season 2 starts September 24th. I can’t wait 🙂 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • liveclarelesley · August 23, 2015

        I wonder if I can set the dvr yet.

        Like

      • Amy · August 23, 2015

        I had mine set last season. I don’t know if it carries over or not.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

